Self Learning is a feature which learns a patient's volume control preferences independently per active memory over time. The tracking and storage of volume preferences happen automatically and require no special training or effort by the patient. The hearing aids learn patient preferences in real world environments, resulting in a more customized fitting. Self Learning is very easy to use and may reduce your fine tuning efforts during follow-up appointments. This feature is only available for select products.
Enabling Self LearningEnabling Self Learning
Self Learning can only be enabled if the patient can adjust the hearing aid's volume via the physical user control (e.g., rocker switch, push button, etc.), T², Ear to Ear, or a SurfLink accessory. Once a volume control method has been activated via User Controls or Accessories, Self Learning must be enabled via User Controls before the hearing aid can start tracking volume preferences.
Applying Self LearningApplying Self Learning
If the patient does not make consistent volume control changes,
“Learning” will not occur. As the hearing aid learns, changes to the
programmed gain are applied only 2 dB at a time, ensuring a true learning
process. If learning is applied, an alert
displays
to the right of Fitting on the Left Navigation Menu, next
to User Volume on the Data Log Summary View, and
on the Additional Configuration Options section of User
Controls. Learned changes can be removed and reapplied as many
times as you choose during any follow-up fitting, until the session
is saved. After each programming session, the self learning data is
cleared from the hearing aid, and the learning begins anew.
Click on the Read Device Settings or Load a Previous Session radio button and then click Start.

| Note: A bar graph showing the applied VC changes relative to programmed gain and the amount (+ dB or - dB) displays per memory and ear side. If the net applied change is 0, "0 dB" displays. If less than the required time of data has been logged to apply self learning, or self learning or a memory is disabled, "N/A" displays. |
view if applicable. To view only the right or left hearing aid, click
or
.
memories. To view or remove the applied learning for a specific memory,
click on the desired memory
.
on the Inspire
Toolbar to save the self learning data if desired.
| Note: The self learning data that was applied will be cleared automatically once the session has ended, therefore, if this data is desired to view or retrieve during a later session, it's recommended you save the session. |

| Note: All applicable bar graphs display as an outline and Reset to Programmed User Volume is disabled for All or the specific memory. However, if the changes were removed from a specific memory only but other memories have applied changes, this button is enabled for All and the other applicable memories. |
| Tip: To reverse the reset, select 'Undo Reset to Programmed User Volume' in the list of undo actions. |
Note: If
the self learning data was saved in step 7 and if the applied
learning was removed in step 8, it's recommended you save
as a new session to retain the self learning data. If or Save
is selected again, the session saved in step 7 will be overwritten. |